Online Resources

Art and Design

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online contains about 95,000 works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. The scope of the collection ranges from 3000 BCE to the present, representing premiere examples of Asian, African, Latin American and Western art....

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

View detailed "how-to" instructions, creative ideas, and articles from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World and many more.

Auto Repair/Driver's Education

Auto Repair Reference Center

Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) is a comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information and contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular...

Driving-tests.org

Practice for your next driver's test with a new resource from the Melrose Park Library. This service includes free tests,  based on the Illinois Secretary of State materials, and is the only site of its kind to include accessibility tools that allow users to hear selections read aloud.

Books and Reading

All Readers

Detailed book reviews plus plot, setting, and character searches.

Book Browse

Your guide to exceptional books.

DOGO Books

Book reviews by kids for kids.

GoodReads

Share book recommendations, see what your friends are reading, and even friend the library.

Library Thing

Catalog your books online.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community...

NoveList K-8 Plus

Like to read action stories? Best friend tales? Picture books? NoveList K-8 Plus helps you find books to match your interests. Find books by Lexile, unit of study, or topic. Plus, grab ready-to-go teaching guides that are quick and easy to use.

NoveList Plus

Not sure what to read next? Find your next great read with Novelist Plus.

Stop You're Killing Me!

"A Website to die for...if you love mysteries"

WorldCat.org

Connect to the catalogs of libraries worldwide.

Business and Finance

Annual Credit Report

AnnualCreditReport.com is the official site to help consumers to obtain their free credit report.

Business Source Premier

  This is the industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source® Premier's full-...

Regional Business News

Regional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

College and Financial Aid

Federal Application for Student Aid (FAFSA)

The online Federal Application for Student Aid (FAFSA) is found here. Most colleges require this form to determine eligibility for financial aid. You may save your information and return at a later date.

Illinois Student Assistance Commission

ISAC's mission is making college accessible and affordable for Illinois students.

Community and Government

Benefits.gov

Benefits.gov is a partnership of many Federal agencies and organizations with a shared vision - to provide improved, personalized access to government benefit programs.

Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services

This BCIS website provides access to forms online, how to obtain green cards and links to other federal government sites.

CyberDrive Illinois

News and information about the programs and services of the Illinois Secretary of State office including driver licenses and vehicle registrations.

Consumer and Legal Information

Consumer Reports

  ConsumerReports.org® — the largest paid-publication subscription-based website in the world — enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Whether a user is looking to find the best deal on an LCD TV, or researching the top...

Education and Lifelong Learning

Khan Academy

You can learn anything! Use this free website to learn a variety of subjects including Math, Science, Economics & Finance, Arts & Humanities, and Computing. 

Learning Express Library

The LearningExpress LibraryTM online learning platform provides over 770 of the most up-to-date testpreparation and skill-building resources, helping both students and adults prepare for a wide range of academic and career-oriented exams as well as improve basic skills in reading, writing, and math...

Study Blue

Free online studying tool for high school and college students that allows you to make online flashcards and notes. Make, study, score, store, and collaborate in order to ace your classes.

Teacher Reference Center

This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Typing.com (Typing Web)

Typing.com is a free online typing tutor & keyboarding tutorial for typists of all skill levels. Typing.com includes entertaining typing games, typing tests, and more.

En Español

Medline en español

Información de salud para usted

Genealogy

Health

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and...

Medline Plus

A Service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

Merck Manual Home Edition

This online version of the Merck Manual is written for individuals looking for medical information in terms the non-medical professional can understand.

Jobs and Careers

Career One Stop

Your pathway to career success. Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Job & Career Accelerator

LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator™ provides personalized, step-by-step job search assistance—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings. With...

Kids

Primary Search

Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk &...

Languages and ESL

Mango Languages

Mango Languages is language learning for the adventurous, the ambitious and the curious. Log on to access over 70 different language courses.

Music

Freegal Music

Freegal is a free and legal way to download and stream music courtesy of your library.

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune (includes historical newspapers)

"This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete...

Herald Newspaper Digital Archive (1941-1945)

The Melrose Park Public Library received a 2009 LSTA Digital Imaging grant for its project Proviso Township in War and Peace: The Digitization of the Herald, 1941-1945.Over 9,000 pages of the local newspaper from the WWII era were digitized.

Melrose Park Newspaper Project

Melrose Park Library Staff are currently digitizing historic Melrose Park newspapers.

Research

Academic Search Premier

  This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles...

BibMe

Automatic bibliography maker

Biography Reference Center

Enjoy access to top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, and thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.                      

GreenFILE

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles,...

History Reference Center

  History Reference Center® is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books,...

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community...

MasterFILE Premier

  MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source...

Middle Search Plus

  Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus...

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Primary Search

Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk &...

Science Reference Center

  Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science...

Student Research Center

  The Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can...

Technology

TechBoomers

Techboomers.com is a free educational website that teaches older adults and others with basic computer skills how to use the most popular and trusted websites.

Teens

Academic Search Premier

  This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles...

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community...

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Science Reference Center

  Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science...

Student Research Center

  The Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can...

Study Blue

Free online studying tool for high school and college students that allows you to make online flashcards and notes. Make, study, score, store, and collaborate in order to ace your classes.

Tweens

DOGO Books

Book reviews by kids for kids.

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.                      

Middle Search Plus

  Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus...

NoveList K-8 Plus

Like to read action stories? Best friend tales? Picture books? NoveList K-8 Plus helps you find books to match your interests. Find books by Lexile, unit of study, or topic. Plus, grab ready-to-go teaching guides that are quick and easy to use.

Primary Search

Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk &...

Student Research Center

  The Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can...